the best bank

image

So I know this is a personal style blog, but allow me to go on a small tangent for this post…

My boyfriend has the best hobby ever: homebrewing.  (Almost) FREE BEER!  And good beer, too!  I started making a beer of my very own (with lots of help/calculations/slave driving from Jon) over a month ago, and it’s finally ready!!!

image

Ingredients…

image

Wort…

image

Beer!

The beer is a tribute to New Orleans’ West Bank and the Vietnamese culture – and delicious food – that can be found there.  It’s called “Port’o New Orleans: Louis’ Wank”, and it’s a porter brewed with lemongrass, cardamom, and coriander.  (The west bank is where our black lab, Louis, is from, that’s why the beer had to be dark, but W. Bank influenced.)

image

Louis (the inspiration).

The beer came out tasting very nice, with a dark, smoky flavor and a lot of lemongrass and spice on the nose.  It’s even a little sour.  Luckily it smells and tastes nothing like Louis.  I wish I could send every one of you reading this a bottle of it – but I’d rather drink it all myself.

Thoughts?

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “the best bank

  1. Sandstorm says:

    It matches his eyes. . . sigh. . .

Leave a Reply

