shopping shame

halston heritage disco print silk gown – my most recent purchase

So I’ve made the executive decision not to go to the release of the Versace for H&M collection tomorrow.  One reason is because tomorrow is Saturday.  Saturday means a hangover, greasy pizza, and college football, not fighting with thousands of other desperate fashionistas over the last studded leather dress – probably not even in my size.  But the main reason is because I live with my boyfriend.

Shopping when you’re single is very different than when you’re in a relationship.  When I lived with three other girls, whenever I went shopping, I’d arrive back at the apartment in an excited huff, my arms laden with bags full of goodies.  I would spill my pile of new clothes onto my bed and roll in it, like it was a pile of hundred dollar bills.  Then I’d put on an impromptu fashion show for my roommates.  I’m assuming all girls do this.

But those days are over.  Now, I shop exclusively on the internet.  I receive the packages while my boyfriend is at work, open them, try on the garments, then squirrel them away at the back of my closet.  I wait weeks, if not months to wear a purchase, because he will inevitably ask if it’s new.  “This?  No, I’ve had this forever.  You’ve really never seen me in this?”  Or I wear my new clothes during the day, with time to photograph them for the blog, then change into jeans and a sweatshirt by the time my boyfriend gets home, relying on the fact that he doesn’t read my blog anyway.  My bf recently asked me if I had heard of women hiding new pairs of shoes around the house and revealing them one by one, so their husbands didn’t know they’d gone on a shopping spree.  “Um… yeah there are, like, four pairs in my closet right now?  And a silk ballgown.”

Please tell me I’m not alone.

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “shopping shame

  1. beth says:

    Right there with ya sista! So true 🙂
    Now that we’re married I have to use the money in my paypal account so he doesn’t know every time I make a purchase on one of our credit cards 😉

  2. Sandstorm says:

    I say, don’t hide it!! But I’m single and probably don’t understand. And I miss fashion shows!! And I really like this dress!! So many !!!!!!! haha

  3. shahanifudge says:

    Love the dress….. I model for my hubby so I guess he’s lucky I don’t have any other vices but shopping… 🙂

  4. I say…if you are paying for it, you shouldn’t hide anything! My bf (I live with him too) is conscious of my passion for fashion, either by how our apartment is full of my clothes or by me working constantly on my blog. It’s part of sharing our lives with them…and they usually have great ideas about it too!

  5. kate says:

    Haha, it’s more the “being responsible with money” thing that he’s worried about. I am working out a budget so I won’t have to feel guilty and hide things anymore… I also won’t be shopping as much. Sad face.

Leave a Reply

