hello

011.2

009.2

029.2

forever 21 shirt, hat, necklace, and heels, h&m jean jacket, vintage skirt, lolita shades, michael rome bag

This camel hair skirt was a hand-me-down from my grandmother. It began its life as a classic pencil skirt, but after a run-in with some moths in my closet, it needed shortening to remove a section near the hem. I explained this to my tailor, and asked to have it made into a mini. She pinned it up to just above my knees. Now on me, this is about the least flattering place for a skirt to fall. It cut my legs at a weird place and made me appear shorter and thicker than I am. I asked my tailor to take it up a bit more. “Shorter?!” she asked, “No. Here is good”. And you know what? I gave in. When I got the skirt back, I hung it in my closet and didn’t wear it for years.

Then my mom sent me the best present ever: an old sewing machine. That thing gives me the freedom to alter my clothes however I damn well please. Goodbye, judgmental tailor; hello legs!

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “hello

  1. Gorgeous outfit! Your grandmother had great taste. That pencil skirt is perfect with the bold cobalt in your top. Lovely!

    Have a wonderful day!
    http://foreveranguyen.wordpress.com

  2. Meggie says:

    Love the story

  3. Sandstorm says:

    Love this!!!

  4. wllw says:

    This outfit is quite perfect! Love how the stripes contrasted so well with the camel colour or your skirt. And that hat just adds a certain touch quirkiness to the outfit. Nice job! X

  5. ronyshapira says:

    my grandmother gave me some of the most amazing staple items in my closet! I love the skirt, and how you put the outfit together! great hat as well!
    xx
    http://wattwewear.wordpress.com/

  6. Rachel says:

    Love the outfit!! Love how with the shoes it can change the entire look! Check out our fun styles which you will love!

    http://www.goldenwhitedecor.com

    xx, The Golden Girls

  7. saioa says:

    Your look is so beautiful!

    love your skirt

    kisses

    http://beharrean.blogspot.com.es/

Leave a Reply

